Become a Nurse >> Browse Articles >> Specialties >> Travel Nursing


Travel Nursing: Understanding Compact Licensure

Travel Nursing: Understanding Compact Licensure

C. Mike Emery, RN, CEO

Most travel nurses have heard the term “compact state”. While the concept of a “compact state” seems straight forward, there are a few circumstances that exist which all travel nurses should be fully aware of.

Let’s begin with the basics and then drill down to the common circumstances that are sometimes misunderstood or unknown.

What is Nurse Licensure Compact? The general definition is a mutual recognition model which allows a nurse to have one nursing license in his/her state of residency which permits practice in reciprocal states, subject to each state’s practice law and regulation. Nurse licensure Compact began with four states in 2000 and has now grown to 23 participating states. The participating states are:

● Arizona
● Arkansas
● Colorado
● Delaware
● Idaho
● Iowa
● Kentucky
● Maine
● Maryland
● Mississippi
● Nebraska
● New Hampshire
● New Mexico
● North Carolina
● South Carolina
● South Dakota
● Tennessee
● Texas
● Utah
● Virginia
● Wisconsin
● Rhode Island

Next: How does Nursing Licensure Compact Affect Travel Nurses? >>

NursingLink School Finder

Save time in your search for a degree program. Use NursingLink's School Finder to locate schools online and in your area.

* In the event that we cannot find a program from one of our partner schools that matches your specific area of interest, we may show schools with similar or unrelated programs.