Become a Nurse >> Browse Articles >> Specialties


Nursing Specialties to Advance Your Career

Nursing Specialties to Advance Your Career

Wendy J. Meyeroff / Monster Contributing Writer

If you’re an experienced nursing professional, there are a number of opportunities in advanced practice nursing you could pursue.

Advanced practice nurses fall into four categories: nurse practitioners (NPs), certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), certified nurse-midwives (CNMs) and clinical nurse specialists (CNSes). All require advanced education (typically leading to a master’s degree) and clinical experience. After that, certification and state licensing requirements vary. So do salaries, which differ according to location, educational levels and practice setting.

Nurse Practitioners

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists

Certified Nurse-Midwives

Clinical Nurse Specialists

NursingLink School Finder

Save time in your search for a degree program. Use NursingLink's School Finder to locate schools online and in your area.

* In the event that we cannot find a program from one of our partner schools that matches your specific area of interest, we may show schools with similar or unrelated programs.