Reviews: Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN(r) Examination

Book8_max192w

Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN(r) Examination

By Linda Anne Silvestri Available Here
Category: Books
Subcategory: NCLEX
Average Rating:
  •  
(19 Votes)
Description:

A useful review tool in preparing for the NCLEX-RN examination, this guide is based on the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. In an outline format, it comprehensively reviews all areas of nursing, including maternity, pediatric, medical-surgical, psychiatric, and gerontologic. More than 4,000 practice questions are included in the book/CD-ROM package, along with comprehensive rationales and test-taking strategies. * Text and accompanying CD-ROM provide a total of 4,000 practice questions - more than any other comprehensive review book. The CD-ROM includes all 1,800 questions from the book, plus over 2,200 more. * Every question includes a correct answer, rationales for all responses, test-taking strategy, level of cognitive ability, integrated process, category of client needs, and reference to a major nursing text. * Alternate item format questions, including fill-in-the-blank, multiple-response, and illustration questions, provide exposure to these new formats on the ! NCLEX-RN exam. * A comprehensive exam consists of 265 questions with content areas in the same percentages as the current NCLEX-RN test plan. * Pharmacology is emphasized, with 13 pharmacology chapters, a medication and intravenous calculation chapter, and a pediatric medication calculation chapter. * Pyramid to Success sections provide an overview of each chapter plus a focused guide

Member Reviews

  • Photo_user_blank_big
    paigerizme, Tue, 24 Jul 2007 21:25:58 UTC.
    1st review

    A ggod review though questions are not really in NCLEX format ( they are recall questions rather than application questions). I used this book to study for my last semester in nursing school and it was very helpful.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Photo_user_blank_big
    mickymou, Tue, 24 Jul 2007 21:42:46 UTC.

    A good book, helpful but preparing for the NCLEX you need much more.For foreign nurses who have studied abroad. I would suggest if I may The Kaplan review--it cost money but it has an a great library audio as wel as visual and the prepartion is through . Of course personal effort is required as well but following the guidlines , using the library as well as taking the test questions on a cd format prepares you well .I know --I did it and passed it on my first try.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Img_0937_max30
    gmelin, Thu, 06 Sep 2007 13:19:20 UTC.

    This is a very good book - the only book i used when I study for the nclex, I did not even enroll to any review center, all I have is this, the cd that comes with it and Q&A still a product of Saunders. I am really thankful, I passed the NCLEX at the 75th question within 1 hour and 12 minutes....whew...not bad at all....Thank you saunders....

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Christmas_sadie_2andahalf_max30
    mrsRN, Thu, 13 Sep 2007 19:57:46 UTC.

    This is by far my favorite in-class review book. However, for test preparation I recommend the MedsPub book. It consice and to the point reducing brain overload and additional anxiety! :)

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Bridget_batzlaff_max30
    mnbirdy, Mon, 24 Sep 2007 13:42:28 UTC.

    I am using this book along with the interactive CD-ROM to practice over 4,000 various NCLEX questions. I like the layout of the book...for example, there is a chapter on the cardiovascular system and it includes the pathophysiology, client care, medications...anything you could need to know for the exam. Following each chapter, is a specific section of questions pertinant to the chapter. Great book, I would highly recommend it!!

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Me_max30
    lauriefree, Thu, 18 Oct 2007 19:46:34 UTC.

    I think that Saunders is a wonderful book for test review. I like how the book is divided into sections such as respiratory, peds, cardiac, etc.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Photo_user_blank_big
    Littlefawn, Fri, 19 Oct 2007 00:48:05 UTC.

    I AM COMEPLETLY SATISTFIED WITH THIS GREAT BOOK,IT TELLS YOU EVERYTHING THAT YOU NEED TO KNOW,AS FAR AS GETTTING YOU READY FOR THE NCLEX EXAM.THERE IS NOT ANYTHING BETTER AS FAR AS I"AM CONCERNED.!!!!!!

    Flag as inappropriate
  • 1_580369529l_max30
    jowett, Wed, 24 Oct 2007 00:01:17 UTC.

    This is a very good book - the only book i used when I study for the nclex, I did not even enroll to any review center, all I have is this, the cd that comes with it and Q&A still a product of Saunders. I am really thankful, I passed the NCLEX at the 75th question within 1 hour and 30 minutes....whew...not bad at all....Thank you saunders....

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Footprints_max30
    jocelyn707, Wed, 13 Feb 2008 04:51:36 UTC.

    I used the complete saunders set when i took my boards for the LPN/LVN examination it definetly helped show me NCLEX format, and i passed, the Saunders is now recquired for my current program (we do the quizes for our med surg classes)

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Wedding5_max30
    curlyd, Wed, 06 Aug 2008 09:31:33 UTC.

    I found this book to be very helpful when studying for the NCLEX exam. I also took a Kaplan NCLEX Prep class at my college ($375.00). I had purchased other NCLEX review books but found the Kaplan and Saunders guides to be the best overall.

    As a nursing student, you can be overwhelmed when you're at a bookstore trying to figure out what book(s) are the best to purchase. I used this book as a supplement to my required textbooks while in nursing school.

    I would highly recommend the Saunders Comprehensive Review to individuals preparing for the NCLEX, as well as current nursing students. You won't be disappointed.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Czr1_max30
    czar360, Thu, 21 Aug 2008 11:20:50 UTC.

    Good for review.. i used this book as my primary reference. . and i passed the nclex.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Photo_user_blank_big
    Account Removed, Mon, 13 Oct 2008 21:03:57 UTC.

    I love this book and have known several people who passed NCLEX-RN just using this book.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • 100_0078_max30
    bawall, Tue, 13 Jan 2009 01:46:00 UTC.

    I have this book.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Mtaylor_max30
    MichelleTaylor, Tue, 31 Mar 2009 18:51:47 UTC.

    I have this book as well as Hurst. None of this helped. I passed ny NCLEX (RN) by taking the online Vipra Med review exams. It was the biggest bang for my buck... I would recommend the Vipra Med program along with Kaplan Med (If you can afford Kaplan). If not, just Vipra Med should be plenty. Most of the content in the Saunder's book and CD is useless and you will not be tested in these areas.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Me_max30
    michellegtcc, Fri, 26 Jun 2009 02:01:53 UTC.

    I used this book and CD all the way through Nursing school and to prepare for NCLEX. It has a review for each concept and question for each concept along with collaborative test on the cd and in the book.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Photo_user_blank_big
    ropo01, Thu, 27 Aug 2009 13:24:14 UTC.

    my friend told me I must tried it

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Photo_user_blank_big
    mmiller1887, Thu, 12 Aug 2010 07:46:47 UTC.

    I LOVE that this book is broken up by systems so I can review it after lecture and while studying for a unit exam. I fantastic comprehensive prep, but Test Success helps more for actually picking apart questions and their format.

    Flag as inappropriate
  • Photo_user_blank_big
    Account Removed, Sun, 05 Sep 2010 10:35:41 UTC.

    Was required to buy this for my LPN to RN transition program. It has been helpful in getting used to NCLEX style questions and I've been using the CD-ROM for extra practice. I'll probably get a different NCLEX review book for additional help (can never be too prepared for boards).

    Flag as inappropriate
  • 023_max30
    lefizz, Sun, 12 Sep 2010 12:16:47 UTC.

    I love this book! All my exams throughout my nsg program are NCLEX based and this prepared me for the exams very well. I carried it around like it was another appendage (so much so the cover started to tear and I spilled coffee on it it's still going but I should get another on)...in other words, out of all the books I have definitely like this one.

    Flag as inappropriate